The Alpha Delta Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International was the first STTI chapter in Texas.  Chapter installation followed two years of efforts by a committee composed of University of Texas (UT) School of Nursing students, with guidance from Virginia Jarrett and Ms. Chloe Floyd.  UT School of Nursing faculty and the University Chancellor formally approved chapter organization in February, 1962.  Following formal approval of an application for charter by STTI headquarters, Ms. Mary Lou Donaldson, National Secretary of STTI, formally initiated the Alpha Delta Chapter on May 25, 1963.  At that time, 59 charter members were installed.

From 1963 to 1967, the Alpha Delta Chapter carried out its mission and initiated members on the Galveston campus of the UT School of Nursing.  However, due to concerns about a nursing shortage, in 1967, the University of Texas System-wide School of Nursing was established at the Austin campus of the University of Texas.  The University System supported Schools of Nursing in Austin, Fort Worth, El Paso, Houston, San Antonio, and Galveston.

In September 1977, the UT System Board of Regents voted to dissolve the System School of Nursing, and six separate schools were created.  Shortly after this re-organization, four Schools of Nursing sought application for separate chapters on their own campuses.  In 1979, the National Headquarters of STTI granted chapter charters to UT Arlington (Delta Theta), Austin (Epsilon Theta), El Paso (Delta Kappa), and San Antonio (Delta Alpha).  UT Houston remained with UT Galveston in the Alpha Delta Chapter until 1982, when the Houston school also was granted a separate chapter (Zeta Pi) and the original charter for Alpha Delta was returned to UT Galveston.


© STTI Delta Alpha-at-Large Chapter